Vardaan Nagpal wins Delhi Open FIDE Rated

The Delhi Chess Association Open FIDE Rated Chess Tournament was held at Hotel Caspia, New Delhi from 23-27 March 2019.  

A total number of 641 players which includes ten International Masters and 532 International rated players from different parts of India and four foreign federations were participated in the event which was spread over five days with a time control of 90 minutes and 30 seconds increment from move 1. The total prize fund of the event was Rs.18,18,000.

The Tournament was played under Swiss System with nine rounds and had International Master Sayantan Das of West Bengal as the top seed. With round one starting on time and the players went into their business mode from the start itself.

The seeded players found it’s tough from the early rounds itself as second seed Muthaiah AL and sixth seed VAV Rajesh forced to split the point with lower rated players in the second round while the trend continued for most of the round which made the tournament exciting one.  Before the final round, third seed Australian International Master Rishi Sardana enjoyed a half point lead over nearest contenders. In the final round he settled for a peace treaty with second seed Muthaiah AL, which helped local International Master Vardaan Nagpal, Bharat Kumar Reddy Poluri of Andhra Pradesh and Fide Master Matta Vinay Kumar of Andhra Bank to catch up with Sardana to tie for the pole position with 8 points after beating Manigandan SS, IM Harikrishnan A R and IM Sayantan Das respectively and which changed the complexion of the event standings.

The four-way tie for the top spot resolved by tie break score and Vardaan Nagpal edged out others to clinch the title along with a cash award of Rs. 1,01,000/- while Bharat Kumar Reddy finished as first runner up to pocket a cash prize of Rs. 75000/-. FM Matta Vinay Kumar secured second runner up trophy along with Rs. 50,000/- cash prize while Rishi Sardana satisfied with fourth spot finish.

In the rating category of Below 1999, Vinay Raj Bhat of Uttarakhand secured first prize with Rs. 71,000/- while in Below 1599 category, Ashutosh Jamwal of Jammu & Kashmir won the first prize to pocket Rs. 70000/- as cash prize.  Bhagyashree Patil of Maharashtra adjudged as best female player while Ranade Soham Abhijit of Maharashtra become best among unrated players.  Adarsh Tripathi of Delhi, Chauhan Narayanan of Uttar Pradesh and Adarsh K of Tamilnadu finished best among Under-15, Under-12 and Under-8 age categories respectively. Shubham and Mehak Jain become Best Delhi player and Best Delhi Female player respectively.

Kishan Gangolli of Karnataka, Ramachandra Bhat of Karnataka and Kantilal Dave of Rajasthan secured first position in Divyang, BPL and Veteran categories.

In a colourful closing ceremony, Shri. Bharat Singh, Secretary All India Chess Federation gave away the cash prizes and trophies to the winners along with Shri. AK Verma, Secretary Delhi Chess Association, Shri. Prateek Khanna and Parth Narang of Nurtr Group.