Himal Gusain wins Delhi Open FIDE Rated

The Delhi Chess Association Open FIDE Rated Chess Tournament was held at Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium New Delhi from 25-29 March 2017.  

Himal Gusain

A total number of 727 players which includes seven International Masters and 619 International rated players from different parts of India participated in the event which were spread over five days with a time control of 90 minutes and 30 seconds increment from move 1. The total prize fund of the event was Rs.17,77,000.

Senthil Maran and IM Himanshu Sharma

The Tournament was played under Swiss System with nine rounds and had International Master Himanshu Sharma of Railways as the top seed. With Round one starting on time and the players went into their business mode from the start itself.

The tournament progressed on expected lines as seeded players registered comfortable victories on earlier part of the event.  Unexpectedly, top seed Himanshu Sharma suffered a shock defeat against Badvath Anand in the fourth round.

Delhi youngster Ankit Gajwa emerged as the sole leader after the end of seventh round with six and half points but he lost crucial eighth round match against second seed Himal Gusain, which made the tournament wide open.

IM Ravi Teja

In the final round, top seed Himanshu Sharma defeated Abhishek Das while S Ravi Teja and Himal Gusain got better of Kadav Omkar and Aronyak Ghosh respectively to make a three way tie for the winner’s trophy. But better tie break score helped Himal Gusain to clinch the title along with a cash award of Rs.1,01,001 while Ravi Teja finished as first runner and pocket a cash prize of Rs. 75000/-.  Top seed Himanshu Sharma satisfied with third spot finished to secure Rs. 50000/- as cash prize.

Himal Gussain

In the rating category of 1999-1600, Kadav Omkar of Maharashtra secured first prize with Rs. 71,000/- while in Below 1599 category, Leeladhar Kachroo of Haryana won the first prize to pocket same amount as cash prize.

Anusha NLV of Andhra Pradesh adjudged as best female player while Rajesh Dwivedi of Madhya Pradesh become best among unrated players.  Akash Sharthchandra Dalvi of Maharashtra, Sourath Biswas of West Bengal  and Daaevik Wadhawan of Delhi finished best among Under-15, Under-12 and Under-8 age categories respectively. Herschelle Gupta and Aanya Agarwal become Best Delhi player and Best Delhi girl player respectively.

In a colourful closing ceremony, Shri. Bharat Singh, CEO All India Chess Federation gave away the cash prizes and trophies to the winners along with Shri. AK Verma, Secretary Delhi Chess Association, Inter Master Vishal Sareen and Shri. G B Joshi, FIDE Trainer.