Ajith and Rutuja National Amateur Chess Champions

New Delhi (20 Nov 15) :- Ajith M P of Karnataka and Rutuja Bakshi of Maharashtra won the National Amateur and National Amateur Women Champion titles here at Arya Samaj Bhawan, Rajendra Place today.



Ajith registered nine wins and two draws to take his tally to ten points out of possible eleven to clinch the title with one point over his nearest contenders.  Three players Pankaj Sharma of Punjab, Kadav Omkar of Maharashtra and Dilip Das of West Bengal tied for the runner-up position with nine points but better tie break score helped Sharma to finish as runner-up while Omkar and Das satisfied with third and fourth place finishes.



In the National Amateur Women Championship was held as part of National Amateur Championship and Rutuja finished sixth in the final ranking with eight and half points to secure the Women Winner’s Trophy. Nandhitha V of Telegana with seven and half points finished as runner-up.



In a brief closing ceremony International Arbiters Shri. R S Tiwari, Shri. H K Tewari, Shri. MS Gopakumar along with DCA Secretary AK Verma and Chief Arbiter Sakthi Prabhakar gave away the trophies, cash prizes and certificates to the winners.