Popov shocked in Parsvnath opener

New Delhi (09 Jan 15) :- Grandmaster and Chennai Open winner Ivan Popov of Russia suffered a shock defeat at the hands of unheralded Aniruddha Deshpande in the opening round of the premier section of 13th Parsvnath Delhi International Grandmasters Chess Tournament that got underway here in Ludlow Castle Sports Complex on Friday.

IMG_3515 (1)

It turned out to be a tough day for Popov who could not match the guile of Deshpande. The Indian youngster used his resources and causes the biggest upset in the first round.

Meanwhile Maharashtra youngster Pratik Patil started off on a positive note by holding fifth seed Grandmaster Mikhail Mozharov of Russia to a creditable draw. Meanwhile G B Joshi brought cheers to local enthusiasts as he held Ukrainian Grandmaster Valeriy Neverov in the opening round.


A total number of 179 players from 18 countries, which include 22 Grandmasters, 27 International Masters and 3 Women Grandmasters are taking part in the premier section of this 30 lakh prize money event while in the Category ‘B’ for the players below 1999 international rating which is underway simultaneously with the premier section attracted a total number of 484 players.  The third category for the players below 1599 elo rating will starts on Tuesday and this section already crossed the barrier 500 and entries are pouring day by day.

Important Results (Indians otherwise stated) :-  Krishna Teja N (0) lost to GM Abhijeet Gupta (1); GM Ivan Popov of Russia (0) lost to Aniruddha Deshpande (1); Rajib Dhar (0) lost to GM Anton Demchenko of Russia (1); GM David Alberto of Italy (1) beat Harshit Raja (0); Pratik Patil (.5) drew with GM Mikhail Mozharov of Russia (.5); GM Sabino Brunello of Italy (1) beat Iniyan P (0); Aref Vasli of Iran (0) lost to GM Cristhian Cruz of Peru (1); GM Andrey Baryshpolets of Ukraine (1) beat Yohan J (0); Rakesh Kumar Jena (0) lost to GM Alexander Evdokimov of Russia (1); GM Sahaj Grover (1) beat Niraj Saripalli (0); Anish Gandhi (0) lost Eldar Gasanov of Ukraine (1); GM Nguyen Duc Hoa of Vietnam (1) beat Mahalakshmi M (0); Pranavananda V (0) lost to GM Marat Dzhumaev of Uzbekistan (1); GM Axel Rombaldoni of Italy (1) beat Saranya J (0); Senthil Maran K (0) lost to GM Ziaur Rahman of Bangladesh (1); GM Debashis Das (1) beat Vaishali R (0); G B Joshi (.5) drew with Valeriy Neverov of Ukrain (.5); GM Shyam Sundar (1) beat Srinath Rao S V (0); Jitendra Kumar Choudhary (0) lost to GM Abhijit Kunte (1); GM Deepan Chakkravarthy (1) beat Rahul Srivatshav P (1).